Home | Support | Commodity Codes | Contact Us

Commodity and service coding systems supported by the APSWin software.

UNSPSC (see note 1)

The Universal Standard Products and Services Classification (UNSPSC) is a global standard developed and managed through ECCMA by volunteer domain experts from around the world. The UNSPSC is in the public domain and it can be used and distributed without restrictions or license fees.

For more information, see: www.unspsc.org.

NAICS (see note 1)

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) was developed by the Economic Classification Policy Committee (ECPC), in cooperation with Statistics Canada and Mexico's Instituto Nacional de Estadística, Geografía e Informática (INEGI) to provide comparable statistics across the three countries (USA, Canada, and Mexico). On April 9, 1997, the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) announced its decision to adopt the NAICS as the industry classification system used by the statistical agencies of the United States. NAICS replaces the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification (SIC). NAICS industries are identified by a 6-digit code, in contrast to the 4-digit SIC code. The longer code accommodates 20 sectors (up from 10) and allows more flexibility in designating subsectors. It is subdivided into 4,154 additional categories and provides for detail not necessarily appropriate for all three NAICS countries. The international NAICS agreement fixes only the first five digits of the code. The sixth digit, where used, identifies subdivisions of NAICS industries that accommodate user needs in individual countries. Thus, 6-digit U.S. codes may differ from counterparts in Canada or Mexico, but at the 5-digit level, they are standardized.

For more information, see: www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html.

SIC (see note 1)

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) was originally developed in the 1930's to classify establishments by the primary type of business activity in which they are engaged. It has been revised periodically to reflect the economy's changing industry composition and organization. The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) last updated the SIC in 1987. The SIC code has 83 2-digit "groups", which are subdivided into 995 2-digit "detail" categories.

FSC (see note 1)

Federal Supply Classification (FSC) is used primarily by the federal government to classify commodities and services it purchases. The term "Product and Service Codes" (PSCs) is also used to refer to FSC codes. Some agencies use FSC in reference to commodities and PSC when referring to services. FSC "groups" and "classes" are used to categorize commodities, with emphasis on the items known to be in the supply systems of the Federal Government. The FSC code consists of 78 2-digit groups (and 24 1-character groups), subdivided into 1,771 classes. Each class is designed to encompass a relatively homogeneous area of commodities, according to physical or performance characteristics, or such that the items included in the class are likely to be purchased together.

NIGP (see note 2)

The National Institute of Governmental Purchasing (NIGP) developed and released the first version of the NIGP Code in 1984. It was designed specifically for the "public procurement" sector and can be used at the 5-digit, 7-digit, or 11-digit level. The NIGP code is owned exclusively by NIGP and is available on a subscription basis only.

For more information, see: www.NIGP.org.

NOTE 1: UNSPSC, NAICS, SIC, and FSC Code files are included free with APSWin and may be imported using the System > Import > Commodities and Services menu selections.

NOTE 2: The NIGP code requires an annual subscription and is NOT included with APSWin.


Home Support Commodity Codes Contact Us
Copyright © 2000-2017 Array Computer Solutions, Inc. All Rights Reserved.